Cameroon – Senate: Marcel Niat Njifenji re-elected and Tabe Tando Ndiep Nso replaces former Prime Minister Peter Mafany Musonge

Written by Deckson N.

Things went faster at the Upper House of the Cameroonian Parliament. Since the evening of Tuesday, March 21, 2017, the senators were gathered at the Palais des Congrès (Congress Hall) in Yaoundé to elect the new members of their office. As Speaker of the Senate, there were no surprises. The candidature of the outgoing president Marcel Niat Njifenji proposed by the CPDM the ruling party and majority in the Senate, passed as a letter to the post office. He won 74 votes against 15 invalid ballots. The new chairman of the CPDM parliamentary group is Tabe Tando Ndiep Nso, Senator of the Southwest Region. He replaces former Prime Minister Peter Mafany Musonge, recently appointed to head the Commission for the Promotion of Bilingualism and Multicuturalism. As we put this brief on-line, the election of the other members of the bureau was in progress. We will be back!

Facebook Comments

About the author

Deckson N.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our site and be Informed!

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.