Cameroon – CAF Awards: Aboudi Onguené remains the only indomitable Lioness in the 2016 race

Written by Deckson N.

CAF eliminated Feudjio Raissa. Here is the list of CAF Awads finalists.

It is on the evening of Thursday 5 January 2017 that the Confederation of African Football (CAF) will solemnly lift the veil on the footballers and other actors who marked the 2016 sport season in Africa. The event both a cultural and sporting show will be held at the International Conference Center in Abuja, capital of Nigeria.

The day before this meeting, the CAF jury published the list of three finalists in all categories. The most coveted trophy, that of the African player (golden ball) of the year 2016, will be played at the final stage by Algerian Riyard Mahrez, Senegalese Sadio Mané and Gabonese and favorite Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

For the trophy of the Female African player of the year 2016, the Cameroonian international Gabriel Aboudi Onguené will be in final competition with the Ghanaian Elizabeth Addo and the Nigerian and favorite Asisat Oshoala. The Cameroon national team midfielder, Feudjio Raissa, is one of the two players who have been relegated to the final sieve. However, Feudjio and her teammates from the national team remain in the category Best National Team lady of the year.

The Cameroon delegation is certain to return at least with a trophy because Emilienne Mbango, a major figure in the history of women’s football in Cameroon, will receive the Trophy of Legend Award on this occasion. This is a special award that CAF attributes to people who have particularly marked the history of football on the black continent.

Here are the three finalists in each category:

Player of the Year(male)

  1. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon, Borussia Dortmund)
  2. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Leicester City)
  3. Sadio Mané (Senegal, Liverpool)

Player of the Year (Female)

  1. Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
  2. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
  3. Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroun & Rossiyanka)

Player of the Year playing in Africa

  1. Denis Onyango (Uganda)
  2. Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe)
  3. Rainford Kalaba (Zambia)

Hope of the Year

  1. Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  2. Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)
  3. Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

Best Young of the Year

  1. Alex IWOBI (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  2. Eric AYIAH (Ghana U-17)
  3. Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)

Coach of the Year

  1. Florent IBENGE (DR Congo)
  2. Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  3. Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria Women’s National Team)

Referee of the Year

  1. Papa Gasama, The Gambia
  2. Grishea Gehead, Egypt
  3. Malang Diedhiou, Senegal

Club of the Year

  1. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  2. TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
  3. Zesco United (Zambia)

National Team of the Year

  1. RD Congo
  2. Senegal
  3. Uganda

National Women’s Team of the Year

  1. Cameroon
  2. Nigeria
  3. South Africa

Legend Award

  1. Laurent Pokou (Ivory Coast)
  2. Emilienne Mbango (Cameroon)
Facebook Comments

About the author

Deckson N.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our site and be Informed!

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.