Cameroon – Football: The Indomitable Lions of football are in Yaounde to prepare the AFCON Gabon 2017. Here is the list of the first arrivals. Big surprise in sight!

Written by Deckson N.

On holiday to the country and elsewhere for the 2016 holidays, the players of the Cameroon national football team, pre-selected for the preparatory stage of the final phase of the AFCON 2017 Gabon, have resumed service, not With their respective professional club, but under the colors of the national pennant selection.

Since the afternoon yesterday Monday 2 January 2017, the players summoned gradually arrive at the hotel Mont Febe Yaounde, gathering place. The last check yesterday shortly before 7 pm in the den of the Indomitable Lions, reports 26 players present. Among the laggards expected, Alphonse Tchami, Team Manager of the national team, quotes the names of Joel Matip, Eric Maxim Choupo Moting, Allan Nyom and Karl Toko-Ekambi. Two of these last names, notably Joel Matip and Allan Nyom had declared their intention not to be part of the Gabonese expedition. Their arrival would be a big surprise. The case of Eric Maxim Choupo Moting is another case that arouses curiosity. His relatives announce him non-starter for the AFCON in Gabon. So far he has not responded to the call of coach Hugo Broos.

With or without the laggards, the technical staff programmed the beginning of the preparatory stage this Tuesday from 10 am in the annex number 1 of the Ahmadou Ahidjo stadium of Yaounde. Before flying to the AFCON in Libreville, the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon will deliver two friendly matches in Yaounde respectively against the selection of DR Congo on Thursday 05 January and against the Zimbabwe team on Tuesday 10 January, two teams qualified Also for the final round of AFCON 2017.

List of first arrivals

Goalkeepers: André Onana (Ajax Amsterdam, The Netherlands), Fabrice Ondoa (FC Sevilla, Spain), Jules Goda (AC Ajaccio, France), Georges Mbokwe (Coton Sport Garoua).

Defenders: Nicolas Nkoulou (Lyon, France); Aurélien Chedjou (Galatasaray, Turkey); Ambroise Oyongo (Impact Montreal, Canada); Mohamed Djeitei (Nastic Tarragone, Spain); Fai Collins (Standard Liège, Belgium), Michael Ngadeu Ngadjui (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Adolphe Teikeu of Sochaux, France, Jonathan Ngwem of FC Progresso of Angola, Ernest Mabouka of MSK Zilina of Slovakia,

Midfielders: Franck Kom (ES Sahel, Tunisia), Sébastien Siani (Ostend, Belgium), Franck Boya (Apejes), Ibrahim Amadou (Lille, France).

Attackers: Anatole Abang (New York Red Bulls, USA), Benjamin Moukandjo (Lorient, France), Jacques Zoua (Kaiserslautern, Germany), Edgar Salli (St. Gallen, Switzerland) Njie (Marseille, France), Robert Ndip Tambe (Spartak Trnava, Slovakia), Christian Bassogog (Aalborg, Denmark).

 By Adeline ATANGANA via CIN

Facebook Comments

About the author

Deckson N.

  • I think other young players can take this opportunity and write their names on the history books by winning the AFCON

Please wait...

Subscribe to our site and be Informed!

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.