Cameroon – Awards: No Cameroonian to win Best African footballer of the year as Samuel Eto’o and Moukandjo are eliminated

Written by Deckson N.

The jury of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) in charge of designating the African Player of the year 2016 has already chosen a short list of 5 finalists out of the 30 nominees of the initial list.

The names of the 5 finalists were unveiled on Tuesday 22 November 2016 by the Caf. They are the Senegalese Sadio Mane, the Algerians Islam Slimani and Riyad Mahrez, the Egyptian Mohamed Salah and the Gabonese title holder Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang. The lucky winner will be announced on January 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria, during the traditional Galla Glo-Caf Awards. It is already certain that the next African Best Player will not be Cameroonian. The shortlisted Samuel Eto’o quadruple and Benjamin Moukandjo were eliminated at the end of the first sieve.

Five finalists unveiled by CAF

For the African player of the year, they are;

  1. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borrusia Dortmund)
  2. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and City of Leicester)
  3. Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool)
  4. Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Roma)
  5. Islam Slimani (Algeria and city of Leicester)

For the African player of the year (based in Africa), the top five are;

  1. Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns & Zimbabwe)
  2. Keegan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)
  3. Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe and Zambia)
  4. Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)
  5. Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda)
Facebook Comments

About the author

Deckson N.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our site and be Informed!

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.